Bound By Tradition

As I study through Matthew, more and more I am being convicted by the attitude of the Jewish leaders. It is a trumping of the Word of God by their man made tradition.

I wonder how many times I cling to traditions too…family traditions, church traditions cultural traditions and let them take precedence over God’s Word?

I desire a religion of the heart….an internal religion…not an external one. I must continually examine myself that I am not bound in tradition, even the tradition that is connected to the truth, and be certain that I worship from the heart. Am I bound only to ceremony and ritual? Or am I bound by love to the living Christ?

Additional Scriptures speaking to hypocrisy in our worship of the Lord:

*1Sam 15:22 *Isaiah 29:13-14 *1John 4:20 *Matt 6:1-5 *James 1:22-25 *Luke 5:46 *Jer 8:7-10 *Col 2:20 *Psalm 51:17 *Hos 6:6 *Matt 9:13 *Is 59:1-4

Leave a comment